Welcome from ACIPC President


On behalf of the Board of Directors, it gives me great pleasure to invite you to join us for ACIPC 2017 in Canberra, Australia.

ACIPC 2017 promises a wealth of interest as we tackle the challenges and embrace the opportunities for the future of our profession. Held at the National Convention Centre, Canberra, ACIPC 2017 will broker new dimensions and frontiers in education, research and practice in infection prevention and control as we together prevent and control infection in our communities. And where better to do so than in Canberra, Australia’s national capital. Whether it’s world-class food & wine, iconic national treasures or landmarks, everything Canberra has to offer is in short reach.

We look forward to meeting with you at ACIPC 2017.


Professor Ramon Shaban

Australasian College for Infection Prevention and Control

February 2017

Registration Open

March 2017

Sponsor & exhibitor sales open

March 2017

Scholarship applications open

6 October 2017

Early bird registrations close

We would like to keep you up-to-date as planning proceeds for the 2017 ACIPC Conference which will take place at the National Convention Centre, Canberra ACT, from Monday 20 – Wednesday 22 November.

Please click on the applicable mailing list below to ensure we have your current contact details:

Invited Speakers

We are pleased to announce the following international invited speakers have been confirmed for the conference.

Further information regarding invited speakers will be posted to the website as planning proceeds.

  • A/Professor Deverick Andersen
    Duke Infection Control Outreach Network (DICON)
  • Professor Susan Huang
    University of California Irvine School of Medicine

Spotlight on Canberra

Watch below for a short snippet of Canberra’s favourite Food & Wine experiences.

Go to the “Visiting Canberra” page to learn more about what Canberra has to offer ACIPC delegates!


National Convention Centre
31 Constitution Avenue
Canberra, ACT 2601

View a Google Map of the venue.

Who Should Attend

  • Infection Prevention and Control Professionals
  • Infectious Diseases Physicians
  • Nurses (Acute, Long Term Care and Community)
  • Microbiologists
  • Researchers
  • Scientists
  • Hospital Managers
  • Government Representatives
  • University Representatives
  • Pharmacists
  • Professionals in associated disciplines

Conference Managers

For all enquiries please contact the team at Conference Design:

+61 3 6231 2999

Facebook Posts

ACIPC Committee Members

Conference Organising Committee


  • Marija Juraja
    Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Adelaide
  • Fiona Wilson
    Department of Health and Human Services, Tasmania

Committee Members

  • Lisa Ryan
    Calvary Health Care, South Australia
  • Lincoln Fowler
    Bairnsdale Regional Health Service
  • Berndatte Brogan
    Western Health, Victoria
  • Sandra Roodt
    Calvary, ACT
  • Fiona Kimber
    ACT Health

Scientific Organising Committee


  • Dr Lisa Hall
    Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane

Committee Members

  • Professor Allen Cheng
    Monash University, Melbourne
  • A/Professor Leon Worth
    Doherty Institute, Melbourne
  • Dr Philip Russo
    ACIPC Board of Directors, Deakin University
  • A/Professor Brett Mitchell
    Avondale College, NSW
  • Dr Jan Gralton
    Healthcare Associated Infections (HAI), NSW
  • Dr Andrew Stewardson
    Hand Hygiene Australia
  • Dr Deborough Macbeth
    ACIPC Board of Directors, Gold Coast Health Service