International Speakers

We are pleased to confirm the participation of the following international speakers.

Dr Deverick J. Anderson
Duke University

Deverick (“Dev”) J. Anderson, MD, MPH, FIDSA, FSHEA

Dr. Anderson is an Associate Professor in the Division of Infectious Diseases and Department of Medicine at Duke University. He is currently Director of the Duke Center for Antimicrobial Stewardship and Infection Prevention.  Over the past decade, Dr. Anderson’s work has led to improvements in the quality and safety of care in multiple areas of healthcare, including large tertiary care hospitals and small community hospitals.

Dr. Anderson has authored over 140 peer-reviewed articles related to quality of care, patient safety, healthcare epidemiology, antimicrobial stewardship, and multidrug-resistant pathogens.  Dr. Anderson has received research funding from the NIH, the AHRQ, and the CDC and is currently the Principal Investigator of the Duke-UNC Prevention Epicenter Program.  He is a member of the Board of Trustees for SHEA.  In addition, he is an alumnus of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Physician Faculty Scholars Program and a member of the Steering Committee for the NIH’s Antibacterial Resistance Leadership Group.

Dr Susan Huang
University of California Irvine

Susan Huang, MD MPH is Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases and Medical Director of Epidemiology and Infection Prevention at the University of California Irvine.

She received her MD from Johns Hopkins and her MPH from the Harvard School of Public Health. She completed residency at the University of California San Francisco and her ID fellowship at Harvard at Brigham & Women’s Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital.

Dr. Huang has over 130 publications and is lead investigator of five randomized clinical trials on preventing HAIs and drug-resistant pathogens in hospitals and nursing homes. Her research includes efforts toward surgical site infections, outbreak detection, and regional simulation models to prevent contagious spread.

Dr. Huang has served on the US CDC’s Healthcare Infection Control Practices Advisory Committee (HICPAC), the Antibiotic Resistance Committee for the Infectious Diseases Society of America, and the Clinical Effectiveness Research Innovation Collaborative of the US National Academies of Medicine.

National Speakers

Dr Noleen Bennett

Dr Noleen Bennett is a senior Infection Control Consultant employed both at the Victorian Healthcare Associated Infection Surveillance System Coordinating Centre and the National Centre for Antimicrobial Stewardship. She is currently the Project Officer overseeing the Aged Care National Antimicrobial Prescribing Survey. She is now descending towards the age bracket that it is likely she will be admitted to an aged care home.

Sylvia Gandossi
Western Diagnostic Pathology

Sylvia is the Infection Control Consultant at Western Diagnostic Pathology.  She is a Registered Nurse, and holds a Bachelor of Nursing  and Graduate Certificate in Infection Control.  Since 2006 she has been a CICP.

With more than 30 years in the health care industry, she has served in both clinical and management positions in nursing and infection control.

Since joining Western Diagnostic Pathology in 1994 Sylvia has been involved in establishing and developing the Infection Control Consultancy, which provides all aspects of infection control across the continuum of care.

Her areas of interest are the infection control aspects of risk management, aged, office-based and community care.

Dr Chong Wei Ong
The Canberra Hospital

Dr Chong Wei Ong obtained his medical degree from the University of Sydney and subsequently completed his specialist training at The Canberra Hospital and Royal Hobart Hospital. He has previously worked as a Clinical Microbiologist and Infectious Diseases Physician at Royal Hobart Hospital, focussing on Antimicrobial Stewardship and Infection Prevention and Control. In 2013, he was a member of the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (ACSQHC) Multi Resistant Gram-negative Taskforce and was on the writing group for the “Recommendations for the control of Multi-drug resistant Gram-negatives: carbapenem resistant Enterobacteriaceae” published that year. He currently works as a Clinical Microbiologist at ACT Pathology at The Canberra Hospital and is also an Infectious Diseases Physician at both Calvary Public Hospital Bruce and also Canberra Hospital and Health Services. His interests include phenotypic tests for detection of resistance mechanisms in Gram Negative bacteria and serological diagnosis of infectious diseases.